Registered Charity 521362


LABGC held its 82nd Annual General Meeting on 21st November 2016 at Lancaster House Hotel.

The Associations Chairman Mr Gary Stephenson welcomed everyone to the meeting he also thanked the staff, volunteers and clubs for their ongoing hard work, time and effort in helping the Association in the last year.

The Election of Officers followed which recognised the support of Mr Graham Howse the Associations Honorary Treasurer who was stepping down following 8 years of service to the association. However, we were pleased to welcome Mr Rob Mitchell of CWR accountants who will be taking up the position of Honorary Treasurer.

We also welcomed Mr Mark Cueto MBE as a vice president and new host of the association’s annual Charity Golf tournament. There were no other amendments to officers and trustees.

The ordinary business was concluded and the County Director Adrian French followed with an update on some of the challenges the association had faced over the financial year such as staff changes, coupled with a lack of funding and low level engagement in LABGC events and activities, consultation had taken place to determine needs and hopes for the future, with a review of our membership offer and how we can better support our member clubs to continue to support and compliment their work with disadvantaged young people across pan Lancashire.

Kathy Ashworth, Senior Manager, Wellbeing, Prevention and Early Help service for Lancashire County Council gave a talk on the changes in local authority youth services and how this is moving more toward a targeted family approach due to the reduction in funds available for services to young people and families. Kathy explained how there would be a reduction of Libraries, children’s centres and Youth Zones across the county with many centres closing or moving into the 3rd sector where possible and how some discreet provision for young people would continue in the remaining Youth Zones, but would be part of a wider family approach. Implementation of this new structure is due to be in place by April 2017.

The talks were followed by the Associations Annual Awards Presentation with the following recipients receiving an award on the night.


Club Dine With Me Runners Up

Blackpool Boys & Girls Club


Club Dine With Me Winners

Clitheroe Youth Forum


NCS Outstanding Achievement Award

Rhiannon Glynn


LABGC “Mel Diack” Participation Award  - Joint Winners

Burnley Boys & Girls Club


Clitheroe Youth Forum


Keystone Awards

Bronze (10 yrs Vol Service)

Graham Howse

LABGC Honorary Treasurer

Tom Melvin

Burnley Boys & Girls Club

Keystone Awards

Silver (20 yrs Vol Service)

Darren Cheng

Blackpool Boys & Girls Club

John Melvin

Anthony Ruth

Burnley Boys & Girls Club

Terry Middleditch

Brian Keating

Friends of Ormside

Keystone Awards

Platinum (40 yrs Vol Service)

Dave Blacker MBE

Steve Potter

Steve Bennett

Blackpool Boys & Girls Club

LABGC Junior Member of the Year

Shannon McNamee

Blackpool Boys & Girls Club

LABGC Leslie Eckersley Senior Member of the Year – Runner Up

Lydia Bathina

Bolton Lads & Girls Club

LABGC Leslie Eckersley Senior Member of the Year – Winner

Liam Starkie

Clitheroe Youth Forum

LABGC Adult Volunteer of the Year – Runner Up

Sean Dwyer

Wigan Youth zone

LABGC Adult Volunteer of the Year – Winner

Mandy Lawson

Blackpool Boys & Girls Club


gallery gallery inspire+enable Sports2Go QuadSquad TurfSurfers Trailblazers Invest In Youth Newsletter Signup visit our youtube channel opportunities challenge The Ragdoll Foundation

Minibus hire
Hire the minibus for your sports team event
more info

Catering trailer hire
Cater to over 100 people at any event
more info

Conference room hire
We have a well located, professional conference room for your business to hire
more info